Silenced in Sequins review

This is the second book in Debra Sennefelder’s Resale Boutique series which I like a whole lot more than I thought I would when I first heard the idea of a high-fashion resale boutique. I’m not interested in clothes shopping myself, but it doesn’t really dwell much on that. I came for the mystery and have definitely not been disappointed.

The characters are fun, especially Pepper, Liv and Gabe. Kelly gets on my nerves sometimes with her impulsiveness and extreme refusal to listen, but she makes up for it in her kindness and willingness to help other people. She simply can’t help herself for being a good person and honestly shouldn’t have to worry about trying to do the right thing. But somehow she always ends up with someone upset or killed. She came through and solved this case, which if truth was known probably didn’t sit well with her new date’s sister the detective. 😉

My Goodreads review:

Silenced in Sequins (Resale Boutique Mystery #2)Silenced in Sequins by Debra Sennefelder

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed that this book took place from the time right before Thanksgiving up till Christmas Day. I was glad for another visit to Lucky Cove with Kelly and her friends. I hadn’t really remembered the character of Breena until I got a little bit into the book. I do love Liv as Kelly’s bestie and Gabe as her guy best friend. With two friends like that, Kelly was definitely blessed. Pepper is a great character too, the perfect momlike figure for Kelly and her impulsiveness (which always makes me nervous lol).

At least Kelly wasn’t the one blame for a murder this time, but she promised to help the woman who was the prime suspect. The showdown with the killer was kind of nail-biting, and it definitely was a surprise as to the person’s identity. The side story of Granny and a man named Marvin having been married in Las Vegas was cute until someone decided to take advantage of it. But like the murder case, it all worked out nicely and Kelly had a great first Christmas as a business owner. I like that she and Mark have made a little progress on their budding relationship. His sister, the detective, doesn’t approve, but when has something like ever stopped our friend Kelly, right? 😉

Just like before, I’m super anxious for the next installment in this series!

View all my reviews

Verse and Vengeance review

This is the fourth book in the Magical Bookshop series by Amanda Flower. It quickly became a favorite series of mine from the time I read the first book, and I’m always anxious for the next one. Fans of Violet and David will be especially pleased with this installment!

I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC of this book provided by the publisher via NetGalley, and my opinions are my own.

My Goodreads review:

Verse and Vengeance (A Magical Bookshop Mystery #4)Verse and Vengeance by Amanda Flower

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I absolutely loved this book! Everything I’ve been hoping would happen in Violet’s life has come together in a happy way. There were times when she doubted people that she considered friends, but everything worked out and the killer was caught. I was really surprised by the reveal too and had never suspected that person. (Although I can’t say that I’m sorry it was that person lol). I don’t want to say too much, because there are a number of spoilers in the book. Any fans of Violet and David will be well-pleased.

Grandma Daisy has always been a favorite character, and in this book, Richard who was one of Violet’s professors at the college when she was getting her degree, had started working at the bookshop. There was a certain lady he liked a lot, and I was wondering if he’d ever get up the nerve to take her out. It was cool getting to know him a little bit better by reading about his working in the shop during the summer.

I’ve loved this series since the first book I read and always anxiously wait for the next book! The only reason it took me so long to read this book was due to being on vacation. Attempting to read much of it prior to vacation wasn’t working due to all the things needing done before we left.

View all my reviews

Murders and Metaphors–review

This is the long-awaited third book in the Magical Bookshop series by Amanda Flower, and it’s one book I didn’t want to come to an end. I follow the author on Facebook, and I’m sure I saw her post about the fourth book being in the works, but it’s going to seem like a long time! I’m just happy that the series has a new home, thanks to her awesome agent as I read in the book’s acknowledgements.

My Goodreads review:

Murders and Metaphors (Magical Bookshop Mystery #3)Murders and Metaphors by Amanda Flower

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was a book that was a long time in the making, well it seemed like it was lol, and it definitely did not disappoint! I’m so happy this series found a new home and is able to continue.

Violet’s cat Emerson found the body of a famous sommelier and wine author in the Morton Vineyards where they were holding their annual ice wine grape cutting. Violet’s friend Lacey who owned the local cafe with her French-Canadian husband was the woman’s estranged sister, and since a huge blow-up between them had happened earlier, Lacey was the main suspect. David Rainwater, police chief and Violet’s good friend knew he couldn’t stop her from investigating, but he always told her to be careful. After an attempt on Violet’s life, she was more determined than ever to find the killer.

The showdown was great! I hadn’t even suspected that particular person at all. I loved that David and Violet were growing closer and that Grandma Daisy had found something to do to make her feel more useful. Faulkner the crow and Emerson always crack me up and add just the perfect touch of comic relief to the stories that I’ve followed since the first book. Violet had finally been able to talk to her grandma about something that had been bothering her, as well as she was able to give herself permission to make the right choice in a love interest. I absolutely can’t wait for the next book!

View all my reviews

Crime and Poetry–review

This is the first book in a so-far two book series by well-known Ohio author, Amanda Flower. I absolutely love her Amish Candy Shop series so I just knew I’d fall in love with the characters in this book as well…and I did!

My Goodreads review:

Crime and Poetry (Magical Bookshop, #1)Crime and Poetry by Amanda Flower

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was another book I’ve been wanting to read for awhile now because I really enjoy another series that this author writes. I’m so glad one of the online book clubs I’m in chose it for the May discussion!

Violet Waverly was a grad student called suddenly to her hometown of Cascade Springs NY by her Grandma Daisy who was faking being ill. Grandma had a very important job to tell her about. Vi’s plan was to go directly back to Chicago where she was going to the university but finding a dead carriage driver in her grandma’s driveway sort of put a damper on that. Violet was determined to exonerate her grandma of any suspicion in this death and despite handsome police chief Rainwater’s warnings, she continued to investigate hoping that she’d find the killer before that person found her.

I am in love with these characters already and I even dug out the second book to start. I’m not sure how I would have felt in Violet’s shoes if I’d driven like crazy for seven hours to find my grandma healthy and fine. Probably relieved but since Daisy was such a sweet lady, Vi couldn’t possibly hold this against her. I loved the cat that sort of adopted Violet. He was the perfect cat for a magical bookshop, very intuitive, appearing at places when Vi could have sworn she’d locked him in the house. The shop crow Faulkner was hilarious at times. All I could picture was the raven on the Munsters that kept saying “Nevermore!” lol.

The story about Violet’s past was interesting and I was glad to see her get some closure from what happened twelve years ago. I like the new friend she met–Sadie was a very enthusiastic person with nothing but kind words for everyone. And she wasn’t really annoying about it either. The two men interested in Violet both seem awesome but for some reason, I tend to be Team David Rainwater. He seems to have more of a connection with Vi. Nathan seems to really care for her too so it’ll be interesting to see what happens in the next book. I sure hope the author is planning to write a third book–maybe someone at the discussion will ask her that.

View all my reviews